Italian-American Faculty & Staff Advisory Council

The John D. Calandra Italian American Institute of The City University of New York began as the Italian American Institute to Foster Higher Education.  In 1978, New York State Senator John D. Calandra, then chairperson of the Italian Legislative Caucus, called for the creation of an Italian-American institute to address historical, sociological, political, and cultural issues.  The New York conference of Italian-American State Legislators initially funded the Institution in 1979 to address the educational needs and concerns expressed by Italian-American students, faculty and staff at CUNY.  Eight years later, the Institute was renamed in honor of the late Senator John D. Calandra.  In 1995, the CUNY Board of Trustees officially designated the Institute as a university-wide research institute devoted to documenting and preserving the Italian-American experience, under the aegis of Queens College. 

The Italian American Faculty and Staff Advisory Council has its origin with Chancellor Kibbee's directive appointing chairpersons of Italian American advisory committees at each CUNY college.  The Council objectives are to advise the college presidents and Chancellor through the work of the Institute and its Dean on concerns affecting the University’s Italian American community and to safeguard accountability for Italian American personnel within the University.  Additionally, campus delegates articulate the needs of students, faculty and staff at the individual campuses and deliberate ways in which the Institute can address them.

To learn more about the Council, or to express your interest in becoming a campus delegate, contact Dr. Donna Chirico, Chair of the Italian American Faculty Staff Advisory Council, by telephone at 718-262-2687 or by email at dchirico@york.cuny.edu.

Executive Committee
Chair: Donna Chirico, York College
1st Vice Chair: Diane Forte, Queens College
2nd Vice Chair:  John Rose, Hunter College
Treasurer: Janice Zummo, Medgar Evers
Recording Secretary: Kristina Varade. BMCC

Campus Delegates*

Michael Lovaglio
Alternate needed

Kristina Varade
Tom Means, Alternate

Bronx Community    
Giulia Guarnieri
Elena Borelli

Diane Forte
Pieranna Pieroni

Devid Paolini
Corinna Messina - Kociuba

College of Staten Island    
Christina Tortora
Paola Ureni

CUNY Grad Center    
Delegate needed

Vera Senese
Laura Gambino - Alternate

Susan Miceli
Ernest  Ialongo - Alternate

John Rose
Carmen Morano, Alternate

John Jay    
Janet Rubel
Alternate needed

Angela Toscano
Alternate needed

Jerry G. Ianni
Alternate needed

Law School    
Florence Kerner
Alternate needed

Joe Tirella
Larry Santoro - Alternate

Medgar Evers
Janice Zummo
Alternate needed

New York City Tech
Concetta Mennella
Morris Hounion

David D’Amato
Alexandra DeLuise

Gina Capozzoli
Stephen di Dio

Donna Chirico
Samuel Ghelli

Calandra Institute
Dean Anthony Tamburri, ex officio

*Not all campuses currently have representation.